Preschool Easter Party

Posted on March 30, 2012

0


And by that, I meant the kids doing Easter crafts with their parents and eating Swiss roll afterwards. Or it could be the other way around for some kids who couldn’t wait any longer to taste the cake that we baked. It took us several days of baking to be sure that there would be enough cake for everyone at our party. Several days of waiting to eat a cake was too long! The kids obviously had more self-control than I did because after a couple of days of baking, I couldn’t resist the temptation anymore and baked my own Swiss roll when I got home from school. Resorting to Sju Sorters Kakor, I went down to business.

Roulade, Swiss roll, rulltårta, call it what you want. All I know is it’s one heck of a cake!

Ingredients:

3 eggs

2 dl (190 grams) sugar

2 dl (145 grams) flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla sugar

1/2 dl (50 ml) milk

2 dl (200 grams) jelly or jam for the filling

We measure cooking and baking ingredients in deciliters here in Sweden so I added conversions for those who don’t. The vanilla sugar is not in Sju Sorters Kakors’ recipe but I think it adds a little extra flavour to the cake. I always use strawberry jelly for my filling.

Image

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 250 °C (482 °F). Line a baking pan with parchment paper. I always use the largest pan we have and follow my boyfriend’s mum’s way of lining a baking pan when she makes Swiss rolls. Buttering the parchment paper adds a little bit of flavour to the cake but it really isn’t necessary.

Image

Using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar until fluffy.

Image

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and vanilla sugar then blend with the eggs and sugar. 

Image

Add the milk to the batter and mix well. 

Image

Spread the batter in the baking pan.

Image

Bake for a bout five to six minutes.

Image

Invert the cake on a parchment paper sprinkled with sugar.Image.

Remove the parchment paper then spread the jelly on the cake.

Image

Roll and slice.

Image

Serve with whipped cream and grapes like we did in school.

Image

The Swiss rolls we made in school were milk-free since some of the kids and teachers are lactose intolerant. We followed the same procedure, except for buttering the parchment paper, and used the following ingredients: 3 eggs, 1 and 1/2 dl sugar, 2 dl flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder and raspberry jelly.

Varsågoda!

Posted in: Uncategorized